Franchise Council of Australia

Single Unit Franchisee of the Year

Submissions for the 2024 Business Essentials FCA Excellence in Franchising Awards, Single Unit Franchisee of the Year open 11 September 2023.

Application fee: $300 ex GST

Information for participating franchise systems

Award Definition

Awarded to a single-unit franchisee in operation for two years or more who has successfully lead and inspired others within their franchise community through their willingness to share knowledge, support others, and act as a positive role model.


This award is open to all franchisee owner operators. Entries must pertain to a single brand. Franchisees who operate a single unit in more than one brand are eligible to enter, but must declare which brand is being entered. All material, information and achievements must pertain solely to that brand.

To enter the awards you must be a financial FCA member, including at the time of the presentation of the awards.

Qualifying Period

The qualifying period is the 12 months immediately preceding opening date for entries. Click here to view the opening and closing dates for awards.

Benefits of participating in this award

  • Provides a checklist to help you conduct a thorough review of your business against industry best practice.
  • Helps identify specific things you and your team are doing well.
  • Stimulates new ideas and opportunities to improve your business.
  • Merit awards will provide opportunities for recognition of your business in areas it does particularly well.
  • Represents an enormous marketing opportunity for your business to promote itself in the local community.
  • Builds confidence and pride in you and your team

Award Process

  1. Review the assessment criteria below to confirm that you are willing to respond to detailed questions in these areas. Awards submissions will be assessed against specific Awards questions that are available upon registering through the online Awards portal and paying the Awards application fee.
  2. For 2024, Regional Awards submissions will open in September. Click here to view the opening and closing dates for awards.
  3. Register for the online Awards portal and pay the application fee. Your application fee goes toward covering the administration, marketing and assessment costs associated with the Awards.
  4. You will be sent a link to complete your online submission(s) containing a number of specific questions based on the areas of assessment below. No late submissions will be accepted.
  5. All submissions will be assessed by judges using predefined criteria to create a short-list of finalists. You will be kept informed of the status of your submission.
  6. State award winners of the Single Unit Franchisee of the Year for NSW/ACT, QLD/NT, VIC/TAS, WA and SA will be announced at a Regional Awards Presentations. The overall National winner will be announced at the Business Essentials FCA National Excellence in Franchising Awards on Tuesday 21 May 2024.

If you experience any technical issues, please email the awards team at:

Areas to be assessed

Business Planning and Performance How you plan and monitor your business’ performance. This includes such things as your business goals as well as how you measure the financial health of your business.
Customer Service This area measures how you go above and beyond in providing exceptional customer service. This could be demonstrated through positive customer feedback, repeat business, and a strong reputation within the community.
Operational Excellence How you maintain high standards of operations within your business. This could be demonstrated through their adherence to brand standards, their ability to implement efficient systems and processes, and their commitment to providing a consistent customer experience.
Leadership This area assesses how, as a franchisee, you have lead and inspired others within your franchise community.
Marketing and promotion This area assesses how you market and promote your brand effectively.
Community involvement Your engagement in and contribution to the local community. This includes such things as community groups and initiatives you or your business have contributed to or been involved in.
Innovation Your innovative ideas and approaches that have benefited the franchise community. This could be demonstrated through the ability to solve problems and create new opportunities for growth and development.

NOTE: These areas of assessment are provided as general information only. Specific awards questions are available on the online Awards portal.

Back to Awards Home