Home About Us Membership Information Events Awards Media Education Representation Partnership Contact Us

2011 FCA Excellence in Franchising Awards Winners Announced

The franchise industry’s night of nights

The Franchise Council of Australia honoured the best of the best in the franchise sector at the 2011 Westpac FCA Excellence in Franchising Awards Gala Dinner on Tuesday night.

Hairhouse Warehouse won the major award of the evening - Established Franchisor of the Year. Co-founders Tony Lattouf and Joseph Lattouf believe the recognition proves the success of their business model.

“Our business has been recognised by the most credible authority in franchising,” the pair said.

“This award reinforces our leadership position in the Hair and Beauty Industry. It means that we can leverage the award to attract a greater team and greater franchisee prospects.”

The Coffee Club was also a big winner with awards in three categories including Excellence in Marketing, Multi-unit Franchisee of the Year and Franchisee of the Year - two or more staff. Nick Vincent, General Manager Marketing at The Coffee Club said the awards built credibility for the team.

“The marketing award means more franchisee engagement in our marketing programs because we have been recognised as being marketing leaders within the franchise industry,” Mr Vincent said.

“The entire awards submission process was beneficial because it gave buy-in across all departments. It reminded us too, on the efforts the marketing team put in to rolling out national promotions.”

The event, one of the most anticipated on the franchise calendar, was held in the Grand Ballroom at the Sebel Albert Park and attended by more than 500 people.
The awards held at state and national level each year represent the pinnacle of franchise achievement and are a celebration of the hard working teams and individuals in the industry.

FCA Executive Director Steve Wright said in difficult economic times the Australian franchise sector has outperformed the rest of the small business market.

“These outstanding businesses and individuals are great examples of the entrepreneurial skill and determination that has made the sector so resilient,” Mr Wright said.

Chair of the independent judging panel Professor Andrew Terry from University of Sydney Business School said the caliber of this year’s award winners was extremely high.

“All of this year’s winners have certainly set the bar very high for others in the franchising sector to try and emulate. To all those that didn’t win, the awards process still enables people to have a very good look at their businesses and see where they can improve moving towards the coming year. In essence, everyone who enters these awards is a winner,” Professor Terry said.

The Franchise Council of Australia is the peak industry body for the $128 Billion Australian franchise sector representing franchisors, franchisees, suppliers and advisors.

To view photographs from the evening click the link below and enter the password nfc2011.

2011 Westpac FCA Excellence in Franchising Awards Gala Dinner


The Winners

Established Franchisor of the Year
Winner: Hairhouse Warehouse
Runner-up: PoolWerx

Emerging Franchisor of the Year

Winner: Appliance Tagging Services
Runner-up: Mad Mex Fresh Mex Grill

Multi-unit Franchisee of the Year
Winner: Carolyn and David McManus - The Coffee Club, Qld
Runner-up: Irene and Ian Hughes - PoolWerx, WA

Franchisee of the Year –  two or more staff
Winner: Kevin and Joanne Gooch - The Coffee Club Midland Gate WA
Runner-up: Anthony Smith - Mortgage Choice, Cheltenham Vic

Franchisee of the Year – less than two staff
Winner: Fiona Edis - City Farmers Dogwash, Como WA
Runner-up: Rosemary Harmata - Lollypotz, Chatswood and Sydney CBD NSW

Franchise Woman of the Year

Winner: Belinda Sugars, Mortgage Choice
Runner-up: Louise Curtis, Lollypotz

Franchise Executive of the Year
Winner: Cameron Graham, ANZ Mobile Lending

Field Manager of the Year
Winner: Andrew Walker, PoolWerx
Runner-up: Judd Sandwell, Chicken Treat

Supplier of the Year
Winner: Silver Chef
Runner-up: Whirlwind Print

Contribution to Franchising
Winner: Derek Sutherland, ICON Law
Runner-up: John O’Brien, PoolWerx

Excellence in Marketing
Winner: The Coffee Club
Runner-up: Hairhouse Warehouse

International Franchising
Winner: ActionCOACH
Runner-up: Keen to Clean

Franchisor Social Responsibility
Winner: Hairhouse Warehouse
Runner-up: Zambrero

Franchisee Community Service
Winner: Dean Mackie - McGrath Estate Agents, Mosman, Northbridge and Neutral Bay NSW
Runner-up: David and Belinda Clarke – Bakers Delight, Stirling SA

2011 Franchise Hall of Fame Inductee
Noel Carroll, Founder Michel’s Patisserie

Latest News

The Franchise Council of Australia has honoured some of the nation's best and brightest in business at the MYOB FCA Excellence in Franchisin...
The Franchise Council of Australia (FCA) has recognised franchising's best in South Australia at the 2019 SA Excellence in Franchising Award...
Franchising has been the common thread that has helped the high achieving small business owners recognised by the Franchise Council of Australia...

Upcoming Events

WA: How to Become a More Effective Field Consultant and Business Coach

Start Time: 9:30am
Date: Thursday 28th November 2019

SA State Chapter Christmas Celebration

Start Time: 6:00pm
Date: Thursday 28th November 2019


About the FCA Board of Directors Hall of Fame Hall of Fame Eligibility Criteria



Promote your business Have a complaint?


About Membership Member Benefits How to Join FCA Member Standards



Advertise your business Sponsorship & Exhibition Testimonials Become an FCA Partner


FCA Representation Franchising Code of Conduct FCA International


Media and Communication

Franchise Review FCA Media ReleasesFranchising in the Media

Franchise Council of Australia

Postal Address

Level 19, 567 Collins Street

Melbourne VIC 3000

Phone: 1300 669 030

Fax: +61 3 9508 0899


Website Proudly Developed by:



Women in FranchisingFranchise AcademyFranchise Council of Australia